Louisiana Press Journal

Follow Us On:

Louisiana voters have choices aplenty in April 8 election slate

Posted on Tuesday, April 1, 2014 at 12:25 pm

Louisiana voters have plenty of choices in the upcoming Tuesday, April 8 city and district election.
Five men are running to replace Mayor Tom Wallace, who has chosen to not run again after serving multiple terms since 1972. Voters will also cast ballots in three wards for city council members and for candidates running for the Louisiana R-II School District Board.
Two candidates have withdrawn from the race, but their names will still appear on the ballot. Ward 2 city council candidate Bruce McKenna and school board candidate Kristen Powers remain on the ballot, because they chose to not pay for new ones with their names excluded.
For mayor, voters can choose between Bart Niedner, Russell Stephens, David Johner, Douglas Dempsey and David Minor for a four-year term.
In Ward 1, Tim Carter and Neil Darnell will square off for the standard council member term of two years.
Ward 2 voters will choose between Don Oakley and Tom Hooper.
Ward 3 incumbent Chuck Hoffman will be on the ballot, but is running unopposed.
Ward 4 voters will vote for Amy Turner, Jim Gott, Jr. or Lori Helkey.
For the Louisiana school board, five candidates are vying for three open seats with three-year terms. They are Daryle Wallace, Melissa Corbin, Carolyn Hathaway, Josh DePriest and Powers.

Here are the other races in eastern Pike County:
Municipal races
In Clarksville, City Collector Shirley Underwood will be opposed by Deborah Malloy for a two-year term.
Clarksville North Ward incumbent alderman Randy Snell is opposed by Robert Rothbard for a two-year term. In Clarksville’s South Ward, incumbent Caron Quick is unopposed.
In Eolia, incumbent trustee Wilma Lagemann and David Land III are unopposed for two-year terms.
In Paynesville, incumbents Joanne Hammuck and Diane Gardner are running unopposed for two-year terms.
In Annada, there is one board of trustee position open but no one actually files for it. Voters simply cast a write-in ballot for the resident of their choice to serve two years.
District races
There are four candidates running for three spots and a three-year term on the (Clopton) Pike County R-III School Board. They are incumbents George W. Ricks and Melaney Magruder Mathis, along with Greg Talbert and Bob Danuser.
Three incumbents will run for three spots on the BONCL R-X School Board. They are Kevin Keely, Linda Beer and Jan Shulford, who are running for three-year terms.
The Pike County Memorial Hospital Board has two spots open in the race but incumbents Allen Lockard and Bob Mustell are unopposed for five-year terms.
For the Louisiana Special Road District No. 3, Rick Niffen is unopposed for the one position open, which has a three-year term.
There are three candidates running for the one open spot on the Buffalo Township Fire Protection District Board. They are Joseph Langley, Allan Bolton and Bill Sterne, who are vying for a six-year term.
Pike Home and Health Board incumbents Jerry Hickerson and Karl Dewey Jr. are unopposed for two open spots on the board and will serve four years.