Louisiana Press Journal

Follow Us On:

Future Business Leaders from Clopton, Louisiana set for state

Posted on Wednesday, February 13, 2019 at 2:50 pm

Submitted photo: Clopton’s contingent at FBLA districts.

Several local students placed highly at district competitions of the Future Business Leaders of America last week.

Students from both schools qualified for the state FBLA competition. Awards in that competition will be given at FBLA’s state leadership conference in Springfield, Mo. in April. At least four students from Louisiana and 15 from Clopton will be eligible for state competition according to coaches from the two schools.

Louisiana and Clopton compete in FBLA District 7, which includes Lincoln, Warren, Montgomery, Ralls, Marion, and the eastern portion of Audrain county. Over 400 students from 18 schools competed in Tuesday’s event at Hannibal-LaGrange University in Hannibal, Mo.

Students qualifying for state from Louisiana High School included the pair of Tyler Hopkins and Derek Richards (first place in publication design), Hopkins individually (third, business economics), Rachel Beard (first, Accounting I and first, introduction to financial math), and Brett Weimer (third, computer problem solving).

If he receives a wild card, Hopkins could also compete at state following a second place award for impromptu speaking. Also placing highly in district competition: Emilee Hoskins and Jamie Sencenbaugh (third place, hospitality management) and Beard (fourth place, introduction to public speaking).

Louisiana’s FBLA chapter is advised by Chris Booth.

Submitted photo: Top performers from Louisiana High School’s FBLA chapter: (left to right) Tyler Hopkins, Derek Richards, Emilee Hoskins, Jamie Sencenbaugh, & Rachel Beard.

From Clopton, Danielle Illy (first, business communications), Bethany Klopcic (first, client service), Avery Hall (first, introduction to business economics), Calynn Lockard (first, marketing), Olivia Brune (first, marketing and second, organizational leadership), Madison Horstmeier (first, sales presentation and fifth, organizational leadership), Taylor Akers (second, introduction to parliamentary procedure), Zakk Eivins (second, personal finance and third, introduction to business), Jordyn Hughes (third, business communications), Sam Dalrymple (fourth, advertising), Kari Leake (fourth, introduction to business), Grace Cooke (fifth, business calculations), Mary Margaret Garrett (second, business ethics and fifth, introduction to business procedures), Evan Lagemann (fifth, introduction to parliamentary procedures), and Dylan Smith (fifth, political science) will advance to state in at least one event.

Also placing from Clopton: Caragan Lockard (fourth, emergency business issues), Jessica Barnes (fifth, entrepreneurship), Brooklyn McKenney (introduction to parliamentary procedure), Megan Richards (fourth, emerging business leaders), Logan Hall, (second, business ethics), Evan Lagemann (fifth, introduction to parliamentary procedure), Samuel Dalrymple (fourth, advertising) and Daniel Harvey (fourth, emerging business issues).

Clopton’s FBLA chapter is advised by Lynn Hall.

Competitors in FBLA events demonstrate skills in a variety of areas relevant to modern business through projects, exams and performances.